Dangerous Goods Regulations CAT 9/11/12

Whom is the Course for?

  • Category 9 course ensures that airline, operators and ground handling staff know how to read and apply the regulations for the transport of dangerous goods by air.
  • Category 11 training course is designed for Crew members (other than flight crew members).
  • Category 12 training course is designed for security staff who deal with the screening of passengers and crew and their baggage and cargo or mail, e.g. security screeners, their supervisors and staff involved in implementing security procedures.
  • Course Objectives

    This training programme is based on the practical application of the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations which include all the requirements of the ICAO Annex 18 and the current edition of the Technical Instructions. It includes:

  • Extracts from the text of the Regulations where necessary.
  • Guidance notes to help you interpret the Regulations.
  • Examples in the application of the Regulations.
  • Practical exercises to test your understanding of the Regulations.
  • After completing this training, you should be familiar with the contents of the Dangerous Goods Regulations and will be able to deal with all types of dangerous goods covered by the Dangerous Goods Regulations. Specifically, the candidates will be able to:
  • apply the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations correctly.
  • understand the legal aspects involved.
  • differentiate between shipper's and operator's responsibilities and identify your responsibility.
  • identify dangerous goods which are:
  • forbidden for air transport, or
  • permitted as cargo under the Regulations, or
  • excepted from the Regulations in all or in part.
  • identify the nine classes of dangerous goods by their principle criteria.
  • properly mark and label a dangerous goods package or verify the marking and labelling requirements have been met.
  • follow general emergency procedures when a damaged/leaking package is discovered.
  • Pay Now